City Elections

The City Clerk's office is responsible for conducting all City elections. The General Election to elect the Mayor and Councilmembers are conducted each year in May. City Council shall be composed of the Mayor and four (4) Councilmembers; the members of the City Council, excluding the Mayor, shall be numbered as to wards one (1) through four (4).  The term of office for all members of the City Council shall be three (3) years and until the successor to the office is elected and qualified.  The Mayor and Councilmembers shall be elected by staggered terms.  At the regular City election in 2015, the ward one (1) and ward three (3) Councilmembers shall run for two-year terms; the Mayor and ward two (2) and four (4) Councilmembers shall run for three-year terms at the regular City election in 2016; at the regular City election in 2017, the ward one and ward three Councilmembers shall run for three-year terms; in 2018, no member of the City Council would be up for election.  If any Councilmember files an application to be a candidate for Mayor such filing shall constitute a forfeiture of the currently held office in accordance with the constitution and laws of the State of Texas.

To be eligible for candidacy, you must be a qualified elector of the State of Texas, a United States citizen, and shall have resided for at least one year preceding the next election within the corporate limits of the City of Nederland.

Candidate packets are available from the City Clerk in January of each year. Any person having the qualifications required by the Charter may place his/her name in nomination as a candidate for an elected position by filing with the City Clerk an application in accordance with the Texas Election Code, accompanied by a nonrefundable filing fee of $25.00, or in lieu of a filing fee, a petition signed by a minimum number of twenty five (25) qualified voters from within the ward for a Councilmember, or from within the City for Mayor.