City of Nederland Logo
City of Nederland Don Albanese, Mayor
Billy Neal, Mayor Pro Tem
Talmadge Austin, Councilmember
Emmett Hollier, Councilmember
Sylvia Root, Councilmember
Christopher Duque, City Manager

P.O. Box 967 * Nederland, Texas 77627 * 409.723.1503 * Fax 409.723.1550

The City Clerk's office is responsible for conducting all City elections. The General Election to elect the Mayor and Councilmembers are conducted each year in May. Two-year terms are staggered by electing the Mayor, Ward II, and Ward IV Councilmembers in even numbered years; and, Ward I, and Ward III Councilmembers in odd numbered years. All elected officials are voted at-large.

To be eligible for candidacy, you must be a qualified elector of the State of Texas, a United States citizen, and shall have resided for at least one year preceding the next election within the corporate limits of the City of Nederland.

Candidate packets are available from the City Clerk in February of each year. Any person having the qualifications required by the Charter may place his/her name in nomination as a candidate for an elected position by filing with the City Clerk an application in accordance with the Texas Election Code, accompanied by a nonrefundable filing fee of $25.00, or in lieu of a filing fee, a petition signed by a minimum number of twenty five (25) qualified voters from within the ward for a Councilmember, or from within the City for Mayor.

Programmed for Progress

Hosted, Designed & Maintained by juxtapose, inc.