City of Nederland Logo
City of Nederland R. A. "Dick" Nugent, Mayor
Don Albanese, Mayor Pro Tem
Talmadge Austin, Councilmember
Billy Neal, Councilmember
Craig J. Belaire, Councilmember
Christopher Duque, City Manager

P.O. Box 967 * Nederland, Texas 77627 * 409.723.1503 * Fax 409.723.1550
 
Municipal Court

Physical Address:
Nederland Municipal Court
1400 Boston Ave
Nederland, TX 77627

Mailing Address:
City of Nederland
Municipal Court
P.O. Box 1165
Nederland, TX 77627


Telephone: 409.723.1526

Mike Simon – Interim Municipal Court Judge
Jesse Branick – City Prosecutor
Leigh Anne Harrington – Court Administrator
Patricia Martin – Court Clerk

Hours:
8am - 5pm, Monday - Friday
Closed on observed holidays

The Nederland Municipal Court is responsible for processing and maintaining accurate records of citations, including all traffic violations and other Class C misdemeanors or criminal charges filed by the Nederland Police Department, Code Enforcement Officers and charges filed by citizens. Services include preparation of complaints, administration of oaths to persons filing complaints and preparation of necessary summons, arrest warrants, and subpoenas. Municipal Court reports all moving traffic convictions to the Texas Department of Public Safety and submits statistical reports for all governmental units as required.

Municipal Court is held on Thursdays at 3:00 p.m. You must be scheduled on the Court's docket to appear in Court.

It is illegal and improper for the Municipal Court Judge to speak with anyone over the phone or outside of open court regarding a matter pending before the Municipal Court.

CITATION INFORMATION:

Pleas:

Guilty: When wanting to pay a fine or take defensive driving.

Nolo Contendere (No Contest): When wanting to pay a fine or take defensive driving, and not contesting the citation. This plea is considered a plea of guilty in the State of Texas, however, it cannot be held against the individual in a civil suit.

Not Guilty: When wanting to contest a citation. Any individual wishing to enter a not guilty plea must do so at the Nederland Municipal Court. The individual will then be given the option of Trial by Judge or Trial by Jury and notification of pretrial date will be given.

Options for handling citations/criminal charges:

  1. Not Guilty
    1. Trial by judge
    2. Trial by jury
  2. Guilty or No Contest
    1. Pay fine in full
    2. One time 30 day extension (Must pay fine in full by the 30th day)
    3. Partial Payment Plan (Must complete payment plan application and time payment fee of $25.00 added for each violation still outstanding after 30 days)
    4. Driver Safety Course (see Driver Safety Course information page)
    5. Deferred Disposition (See Deferred Disposition information page)
Payment Options

For fine information please call 409-723-1526. All juveniles must appear in open court with a parent or legal guardian and minors with alcohol violations must appear in open court.

In person at the cashier's window in the Municipal Court located at 1400 Boston Avenue during normal business hours.

Method of payments accepted are cash, check, money orders, cashier's check, Visa, Discover or MasterCard. No personal checks will be accepted after a warrant has been issued.

Online Payments:



Drop Box: You may drop off a payment in the Nederland Municipal Court drop box which is located by the front entrance of the Homer Nagel Safety Complex. Please make sure you include your name and date of birth with all payments so we can apply the payment to the correct fine.

Payments may be mailed prior to the scheduled appearance date. Mail to: Nederland Municipal Court, P.O. Box 1165, Nederland, Texas 77627. Payments made by mail are made payable to "City of Nederland" in the form of check, money order or cashier's check. Please mail your citation with a plea and signature on the bottom of your citation. Without a plea and signature, payment may be returned and the case will remain open.

Compliance Dismissals

EXPIRED DRIVER'S LICENSE may be dismissed upon proof of renewal presented to the court and payment of a $20.00 administrative fee by citation due date.

EXPIRED REGISTRATION STICKER may be dismissed upon proof of renewal indicating that the penalty fee was paid to the Tax Office and presented to the Court and payment of a $20.00 administrative fee by citation due date.

FAIL TO REPORT CHANGE OF ADDRESS OR NAME may be dismissed upon proof that the address/name was changed (print out from DPS) and presented to the Court with a payment of a $10.00 administrative fee by citation due date.

FAIL TO DISPLAY DRIVER'S LICENSE may be dismissed for no charge upon presenting proof of having a valid driver's license at the time of the offense.

Insurance Citation

If you received a citation for Fail to Maintain Financial Responsibility, you must present a liability insurance policy or a certificate of insurance issued by the State that was effective on the date and time you were cited. The insurance card issued for carrying in the car is Sufficient Evidence. Your proof of insurance will be verified and your case dismissed, if the insurance is valid. If your insurance was not valid, you will receive a letter in the mail with a newly scheduled court date.

30 Day Extension

You may request a 30 day extension. The entire balance must be paid within 30 days of signing your extension agreement. You become ineligible to take a driver's safety class and for compliance dismissals once your receive an extension. If the balance is not paid within 30 days, a time payment fee of $25.00 will automatically be added to your balance and your case will be set for a show cause hearing by written notice. Your notice will be mailed to the last known address on file with the Court. It is your responsibility to update any address change with the Court. Failing to appear at the show cause hearing will result in the issuance of a capias pro fine warrant for your arrest and warrant fees will also be added to your fine.

Payment Plans

You must call the court first to make sure you are eligible for a payment plan without appearing before the judge. An application must be filled out to be put on a payment plan. The court's payment plans are either $50.00/biweekly or $100.00/monthly. In some cases the court may lower your payment to $50 per month. If you are unable to pay at least $50.00 per month, you must ask to be added to a Court docket to appear before the Judge to discuss other options.

If the payment plan is not paid in full by 30 days, a one-time time payment fee of $25.00 will be added to each offense that is listed on your payment plan. This is in pursuant to Texas state law.

Please note: Driving safety course fees you are required to pay to the Court and Compliance dismissal fees are not eligible for a payment plan.

Driver Safety Requests

You may request a driver safety course in person or by mail on or before your citation due date. If you fail to make your request and fulfill the requirements by the due date you will lose your ability to be granted a driver safety course.

To be eligible for the course:

  • you cannot have completed a defensive driving course for dismissal of a citation within the past 12 months
  • you cannot hold a Commercial Driver's License (at the time of the citation or currently)
  • you must have a valid Texas Driver's License
  • you must provide a copy of your current insurance policy (the policy must be in your name or you must be a listed driver on the policy)

    There are some traffic offenses that are exceptions and defendants charged with those offenses are not eligible for a driving safety course. The following traffic offenses make you ineligible to take a driving safety course:

  • offenses committed by a CDL holder (Article 45.0511(a), C.C.P.);
  • offenses committed in construction and maintenance zone when workers are present (Sections 472.002, 543.404, and 729.004, T.C.)
  • offense of speeding 25 miles or more over the posted limit (Article 45.0511(c)(4), C.C.P.);
  • offense of passing a school bus loading or unloading children; or
  • offense of leaving the scene of an accident (Sec. 550.022 or 550.023, T.C.)

    Requests made in person:

    1. You will be required to sign an affidavit requesting the opportunity to take a defensive driving course for the dismissal of the citation, enter a plea of Guilty or Nolo Contendre (no contest) and sign a sworn statement that you have not completed a driver safety course within the last 12 months for dismissal of another offense and must be received by the court on or before your citation due date.
    2. Bring a copy of your current insurance policy (the insurance must be in your name or you must be a listed driver on the policy); and
    3. Bring your valid Texas driver's license.
    4. A $109.00 payment in the form of a cashier's check, credit card, check or money order.
    5. A $134.00 payment in the form of a cashier's check, check credit card or money order if your violation is for use of cell phone or speeding in a school zone.
    Requests by Certified Mail must include the Following:
    1. Signed and notarized affidavit requesting the opportunity to take a defensive driving course for the dismissal of the citation. Said request must include a plea of Guilty or Nolo Contendre (no contest) and a sworn statement that you have not completed a defensive driving course within the last 12 months for dismissal of another offense and must be received by the court on or before your citation due date.

      DSC AFFIDAVIT

    2. A copy of your citation or citation number;
    3. A copy of your current insurance policy (the insurance must be in your name or you must be a listed driver on the policy);
    4. A copy of your valid Texas driver's license;
    5. A $109.00 payment in the form of a cashier's check, check or money order. Do not put cash in the mail.
    6. A $134.00 payment in the form of a cashier's check, check or money order if your violation is for use of cellphone or speeding in a school zone.

    **** All of these requirements must be submitted to the court on or before your citation due date.

    Other Information:

    Once your payment and request has been received and approved, your case will be put on a "DSC Hold" status and you will have 90 days to complete a Texas approved driver safety course, submit your signed Driver Safety Course completion certificate and a certified copy of your driving record to the Court. You will receive notice of your 90 day deadline at the time of your request. If you make your request by mail you will receive a letter by mail with your 90 day deadline.

    You may complete your course online or in person at a local restaurant as long as the course is administered by an instructor approved by the Texas Education Agency. You may search for approved courses on line at www.tea.state.tx.us.

    The driving record can be obtained from the Texas Department of Public Safety. This form is necessary to prove that you have not taken the course within the past 12 months. It takes approximately 3 to 6 weeks to get your driving record from the Department of Public Safety.

    REQUEST DRIVING RECORD

    Or, you may now request your driving record on line at www.TexasOnline.com. The process for ordering a driver record online is simple. A person only needs information from their current driver license to complete the transaction. You should request Type 3A (the Certified Complete Driving History) and return this record with your course completion form by your 90 day deadline.

    If you do not complete the course and submit the completion forms to the court in the time period prescribed, your case will be set for a show cause hearing by written notice to you and will be mailed to the last known address on file with the Court. It is your responsibility to update any address change with the Court. Failing to appear at the show cause hearing will result in a conviction on your driving record and the issuance of a capias pro fine warrant for your arrest.

    Deferred Disposition

    Requesting Deferred Disposition

    You may wish to request deferred disposition to keep the offense you have been charged with from appearing on your driving and/or local criminal record. It will also keep points from being assessed to your driver's license as required by the Texas Surcharge Program. Requests for deferred disposition must be made in person. The case is suspended for a period of time (between 1 to 180 days) set by the Judge. Fees are assessed as a penalty, to include a special expense fee as prescribed by the judge.

    The judge may require additional conditions, such as no additional charges filed during the deferral period, alcohol/tobacco awareness classes, community service hours, submittal to counseling and/or anger management classes, or any other condition deemed reasonable by the Judge. Anyone under the age of 25 must complete a driver's safety course as a term of the probation if the offense is classified as a moving violation. If you comply with the court's order, the Judge will dismiss your case.

    Requirements
    In order to request deferred disposition, you will be required to do the following:

  • Appear on or before your initial appearance date and time on your citation
  • Enter a plea of guilty or no contest
  • Meet any additional conditions or requirements of the judge
  • Pay the court costs and special expense fee at the time of your request
  • Waive the right to have a trial before the judge or jury

    Offenses Not Qualifying For Deferred Disposition
  • Anyone who holds a CDL at the time of the offense
  • Any traffic offense committed in a construction zone
  • Passing a school bus
  • Serious traffic violation as defined by the Transportation Code, which applies to drivers with a Commercial Driver's License (CDL)
  • Speeding 25 mph over the limit or more

    Note: As of September 1, 2003, you are not eligible for Deferred Disposition if you possess a Class A or B driver's license, even if you are in a personal vehicle (refer to Article 45.051 of the Texas Criminal Code).

    Failure to Comply

    If you fail to comply with the conditions or requirements as ordered by the judge, you will be required to appear before the court and show cause as to why you have failed to comply.

    If you do not appear for the show cause hearing, a Capias Pro Fine warrant may be issued for your arrest. Failure to comply will also result in a conviction on your record and additional fees.

    Juvenile / Minor Proceedings

    All juveniles, 16 years and under, charged with any offense, are required by law to appear in open court with a parent or guardian on the court date listed on your citation at 3:00pm. You will receive verification of your court date by mail, at the address given on your citation.

    Minors Charged with Possession of Alcohol or Tobacco Offenses

    State law requires an open court appearance of all defendants charged with these type offenses. Violators under the age of 18 must appear with a parent before the Municipal Court Judge at 3:00pm on the court date listed on your citation unless otherwise notified.

    Warrants

    A $50 warrant fee is added to each offense once a warrant is issued.

    Arrest Warrants: Arrest warrants are issued for individuals who received a citation and a court date, but failed to appear when scheduled or make arrangements to take care of the violation(s). Arrest warrants are bondable.

    If you have an arrest warrant(s) these are your options:

    1. Plead guilty or no contest and pay your fine in full to clear your warrants. Payments may be made in person at the cashier's window by you or your attorney during regular business hours.
    2. Plead guilty or no contest and be put on a payment plan. You must have a down payment when being put on a payment plan to clear your warrants.
    3. You may post a cash bond for the full amount of your fine to clear your warrants and receive a new court date to appear before a judge. You or your attorney must post a cash bond by appearing in person.
    4. You may post a surety/appearance bond (by calling a bail bond company) for the full amount of your fine to clear your warrants and receive a new court date to appear before a judge. You, or your attorney, or a bail bond company must post surety/appearance bond by appearing in person.
    5. Pay by mail with a money order or cashier's check to:
      Nederland Municipal Court
      P.O. Box 1165
      Nederland, Texas 77627

    The Nederland Municipal Court does NOT accept payments over the telephone. Keep in mind that the warrant will not be cleared until payment is received.

    Capias Pro-Fine Warrants: Capias Pro-Fine warrants are issued for defendants who received a violation, have been found guilty by the court and failed to fulfill the direction of the court. capias Pro-Fine warrants are processed immediately upon default and are non-bondable.

    If you have Capias Pro-Fine warrant(s) these are your options:

    1. You may pay your fine in full to clear your warrants. Anyone may make the payment at the cashier's window during regular business hours or at the Police Department after hours. Exact change will be required after hours.
    2. Pay by mail with a money order or cashier's check to:
      Nederland Municipal Court
      P.O. Box 1165
      Nederland, Texas 77627

    The Nederland Municipal Court does NOT accept payments over the telephone. Keep in mind that the warrant will not be cleared until payment is received.

    If you have warrants, you are subject to being arrested. Officers may arrest you at your home or place of business, and will continue to return until you are arrested or have otherwise disposed of the case(s) pending against you. The Nederland Police Department officers have been provided with your warrant information and the license number of your vehicle. To avoid arrest, you must immediately resolve this issue or you may contact the court at 409-723-1526 for more information.


  • Programmed for Progress

    Hosted, Designed & Maintained by juxtapose, inc.